Contribution of bicarbonate in water profiles

I’m somewhat new to the world of water treatments and I had a question about the profiles in BrunWater and how Bicarbonate plays a role in the finished product.

Judging by all the little notes in BrunWater, I get the impression that the only purpose of bicarbonate is to control the pH of the water. So the more bicarbonate your water has, the more acid you will need to add to achieve proper mashing pH. Or is there more to it than that?

For instance if my water currently has 100 Bicarbonate ppm and I want to make a Yellow Bitter profile (0.0ppm Bicarbonate), if I can hit my target in all other minerals, is there any reason to dilute my water to get closer to the desired profile or will just adding enough acid to the strike/sparge water make up for it or is there some other flavor/effect on the finished product where I would desire a lower bicarbonate level?

I’ve read up a bit on bicarbonate a bit since my water is quite high in it. Doesn’t appear bicarbonate has any direct flavor contribution other than in how it effects mash pH from what I’ve been able to understand. I have pretty high bicarbonate levels in my water so I use 85% phosphoric to get my mash pH where it should be.

You pretty much nailed it in my opinion. Bicarbonate has little value in brewing excepting for its ability to moderate pH.