Concord wine with hot finish

Hi everyone,

I am new at wine making but have made hard cider a few times and I am an accomplished beer brewer. My current project is a 5 gallon batch of concord wine. This was started on March 16, made from Welch’s Concord Grape juice with 7 pounds of crushed seedless grapes (black) added. Original brix was 16.5, I added enough sugar to bring it to 20.5. Ph was tested at 3.4, I added yeast nutrient and used Red Star Montrachet yeast. I punched the cap twice a day and racked at 1 week. Fermentation was pretty vigorous. Fermentation bucket thermometer never went over the high 70’s. It has been racked one other time and it is in a glass carboy. I just checked the ph (3.6) and tasted a sample and it has a nice Concord nose and nice flavor but has a hot finish which I was surprised at. What’s this about? Will this soften with age? At 11-12% alcohol, I am surprised at this “burn”. Is there anything I can do to soften this? What can I do in the future to prevent this? Any tips would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks, Tony

Decipher: you added ~2lbs of sugar?

I would not think that would push you over, but it might.

I’m more worried about the fermentation temps being in the upper 70’s.

It’s only been ~3 months sense fermentation was done. Give it some time to mellow out.

What is the ABV?

I added 1 pound 14 ounces of sugar to bring to Brix to 20.5, ABV is about 11.8%. The fermenting temp was in the mid to upper 70’s but well within the yeast’s working temps. I can see the yeast giving off strong esters or flavors but not causing a warm swallow… I am leaning towards the sugar addition causing this. Now…will this fade with time? I recently racked this into a clean carboy and added 1 ounce of medium toast oak chips. I will check it in 30 days to see where we are at.

Any thoughts?

Tony

“Well within yeast working temps” does not equal “best result will be obtained”.