Complete Newb Questions

Hey all,

Brewing my first batch and at the risk of sounding like a lunatic… it’s an all-grain batch. I have a big pot and a mash tun/cooler but I want to do this first batch on the kitchen stove. I have the 5gal Chinook IPA kit and I’ll be cutting it in half to do a 2.5 gal BIAB batch on the stove and into a 3gal better bottle. Clearly this recipe is for someone the skill level above mine but, with answers to a few questions I think I can overcome. Here are my questions:

1. Water for mash - is 1qt/pound a good start? that would be 6.5 quarts (half of 11 pound grain bill) to start.

2. Sacch rest for 60 mins and mashout for 10, THEN 60 mins of boil time. I’m assuming this means raise strike water temp to 152, add grains and hold at 152 for 60 mins. Raise to 170 and hold for 10 mins. Remove grain bag and boil for 60 mins (adding hops at 60, 10 and 1mins). Is this all correct? 130 mins total (not including times to get to temps)?

3. What temp do I boil at? Literally 212 or whatever it takes to achieve a rolling boil?

4. Pitching… I’ll be putting my smaller pot in an ice bath in the sink. Is 70 the desired temp to pitch?

5. First use of grain mill. How does one correctly set the gap?

Thanks in advance. Your humble servant,
KZOOjon

Welcome to the hobby! Way to get started, dive right in! Here’s the answers to your questions based on my own experience:

1. You should mash a little thinner. Try 1.5 qt/lb, so I guess that’s 11/2*1.5 = 2.25 gallons. You could go as high as 2.5 gallons and that wouldn’t be wrong either.

2. You’ll actually need to heat your strike water hotter to about 170 F. Then when you blend your water and grains, the temperature will steady out close to 152 F.

Your mash time of 60 minutes is standard, although my experience dictates that 45 minutes is actually good enough for full attenuation. So if you want to save a few minutes on this batch and every batch, it’s perfectly safe to cut back to 45 minute mash time.