Cleaning my gear

I’m not real good at searching for answers in previous posts, so bare with me.

I’m new to this brewing stuff.

What’s the best way to clean a stainless steel boil pot so I can store it away? Soap and water?
And what’s the best way to clean a plastic fermenting bucket for storage?
And same question for a glass carboy?

I figured soap and hot water would be fine, and then a good rinse would ready them for storage.

Before using them, I’d rinse with tap water and sterilze with Starsan. Is that good enough or should I bust out the Oxyclean?

Thanks all.

PBW or Oxyclean are good for all of the above. Stainless steel can obviously take more of a beating so a rough pad or steel wool works well, but usually not needed. For plastic buckets, I use paper towels because you don’t want scratches. For a carboy, an overnight soak of either cleaner is good. Some people have mentioned putting some sort of rag in the carboy and sloshing it around to help get it clean. But a long carboy brush works well too.

Just don’t use Oxyclean on aluminum.

Why? I have never heard this before.

I could see extended exposure removeing the oxidation layer from the kettle, but is there another reason?

Why? I have never heard this before.

I could see extended exposure removeing the oxidation layer from the kettle, but is there another reason?[/quote]

You got it. No other reason.

[quote=“dobe12”]PBW or Oxyclean are good for all of the above. Stainless steel can obviously take more of a beating so a rough pad or steel wool works well, but usually not needed. For plastic buckets, I use paper towels because you don’t want scratches. For a carboy, an overnight soak of either cleaner is good. Some people have mentioned putting some sort of rag in the carboy and sloshing it around to help get it clean. But a long carboy brush works well too.

Just don’t use Oxyclean on aluminum.[/quote]

+1
On a side note after cleaning your kettle go ahead dry it and you can store it.