Cider questions!

I’ve got some questions regarding apple cider / sparkling apple wine.

Does anyone do a malolactic fermentation to their ciders like winemakers do? What would the results be?

Do I need to raise the pH before fermentation? After? Calcium carbonate?

When back sweetening. Can I ferment to dryness, add calcium sorbate + metabisulfate, then add more juice? Would this introduce bugs? would fermentation start again? If I were to filter through 2 microns, would this eliminate any renewed activity?

White wine yeast? Preferred temperature for white wine yeast?

How much, and what kind of yeast nutrient do you guys use?

Also, if I halt fermentation early, run it through a filter, then add potassium sorbate and metabisulphate, would that be sufficient? preferred?

anyone?

I’ve been experimenting with cider for many years. I’ve had a few really great ones, and a lot of ones that went bad (rubbery or turpentine flavors), or turned to vinegar… which isn’t all bad… I save the vinegar for all sorts of household uses and salad dressings. Still have a couple gallons of good stuff ready to bottle though from last October.

I believe I have experienced malolactic fermentation before, just by leaving the cider sitting for 6-9 months before bottling. It steadily loses acidity over time, which I can only assume is from malolactic bacteria. Unfortunately for me, I prefer my ciders more on the tart side so I probably should be bottling a little earlier to avoid this.

I have never played with salt additions to control pH, so I can’t help you there.