Chinook IPA question

Have a batch of Chinook where primary fermentation is about finished (it’s been 8 days since the boil and bubbling in airlock is almost non-existent). I plan to take a hydrometer reading, but assuming a good reading, should I add the last .05 oz of hops then, or wait another week before adding them?

Whenever I add the final hops my plan is to keep the batch in the primary carboy and not transfer to 2nd carboy. Any thoughts on how long I should keep it in the primary after I add the hops? The directions are vague( “one to two weeks”) and after being on this forum as a newbie I think I’m starting to value the sage advice on this board vs a set of directions. I’m guessing 2 weeks but it’s just a guess.

Thanks to all who respond.

You’re fine to add the hops. Let it sit for two more weeks with the hops in there.

I would add the dry hops after your gravity reading. Also I have always dry hopped for no longer than seven days to avoid grassy flavors. However, some people do dry hop beyond seven days. I believe majority of the aroma is obtained within a few days so seven days is plenty in my experience.

Like most things in brewing, you’ll get a ton of different answers on this. From what I’ve read (on here), you’ll get the best results by dry-hopping for one week at room temps. After that, you can cold crash and bottle.

As for the grassy flavors, I regularly keg hop, in which case the hops are in contact with the beer for extended periods, albeit at colder temps. When I do keg hop, I give it one week at room temp, then into the kegerator. I haven’t had problems with grassy flavors or aromas.

:cheers:

[quote=“El Capitan”]Like most things in brewing, you’ll get a ton of different answers on this. From what I’ve read (on here), you’ll get the best results by dry-hopping for one week at room temps. After that, you can cold crash and bottle.