Cascade West Coast Imperial IPA Without A Yeast Starter?

Just ordered this with recommended WYeast and realized that it calls for a yeast starter. As a relative newbie I have never encountered a recipe that calls for one. Simple Q: can it be brewed without one/pros and cons or am I out of my mind to even consider not including a yeast starter?

Thanks to all who chime in.

brw

It would be better with a starter. Should still come out ok with out one.

Without a starter, there is a chance that there may not be enough yeast cells to get the beer entirely fermented out, and your final gravity would be higher as a result. There is also a chance that there would be no effect. It depends on a lot of factors, some of which (like how healthy the yeast in that package is) you have no way of knowing about. Making a yeast starter is a way to reduce the chances of problems.