Carbing with honey?

I’m getting ready to bottle 5gal of NB Nut Brown Ale tonight and wanted to try something different. What I’d like to do is split the batch in half, bottle half with priming sugar and the other with honey. Does this work? I’m hoping the honey will do something to the flavor. And, does anyone know measurements/procedures. I’m guessing I should heat up the honey or add it to hot water to thin it out. Please help!

Honey is about the same sugar content as LME at roughly 36p/p/g. You need around 15 points of sugar (the equivalent of 5oz of corn sugar), so thats 6.7oz by weight.

You could add it without heating but I think most people will pour it in boiled water just to give it a little sanitizing. It helps to be able to blend into the beer too.

Hopefully someone will corroborate or correct this info, I’m no expert on using honey in beer.

I am no expert either, but in the Brooklyn Beer Chestnut Brown Ale kit I started brewing with used honey as the primer in the directions.

I dissolved the honey in water on the stove top, just like with priming sugar. So as long as you get the right volumes of honey and water, it should be good.

Sanitize honey?

I thought it naturally was.

When I tried priming with honey, I found no flavor contribution from it at all. That was also the conclusion of several blind tasters. You use so little of it to prime that you don’t taste it. Try it and see what you think, bjut be sure to do a blind triangle tasting between the 2 batches.

Yeah, I never detected a honey note in the brown either. So it probably is a more expensive way to carb beer vs. corn or table sugar.

Not to mention less reliable, IMO.

[quote=“muddywater_grant”]Sanitize honey?

I thought it naturally was.[/quote]
I think raw honey can have harbor microbes. I wouldn’t be scared of it myself but I do know theres always a debate among meadmakers about whether to heat the honey or not. They may actually pasteurize honey for sale.