Cannot find nutrient pack on Wyeast 1056

I cannot find the nutrient pack in the pack of Wyeast 1056. I can hear something moving inside but when I try to locate the inner pack inside the package I don’t find anything.

Any advice?

This is my first attempt at home brewing and this has become a pretty frustrating situation. :oops:

If you really, really can’t find it then it’s fine to make a starter from a non-smacked pack.
Whether it’s advisable to pitch it directly will depend on what beer you’re making. (What’s the OG?)

Thanks for the reply!

I’m making the Dead Ringer Ale from the kit and the package says the OG is 1.064.

What exactly do I need to do a starter? I assume by “pitch it directly” you mean just dump it in the fermenter. What other ways are there to do it?

Congrats on a good kit choice. My batch became ready for drinking last week and it’s very good. I’m going to apologize in advance for all the info and opinions I’m about to drop but you’ve selected a kit and yeast that do better with some intermediate skills not all first-timers have to deal with.

The nutrient pack feels like a ketchup pack inside the bigger pouch. I find it and center it on the edge of my kitchen counter. A moderate press with this method will usually pop it without the horror stories I’ve seen lately of some people popping the whole darn pouch. Yuck!

With a liquid yeast, either the Wyeast smack pack or a White Labs vial, it’s highly advised (required for the vial) to do a starter to build up the number of yeasties. This becomes more important with OGs above 1.055 or so.