Can you FWH an extract beer

So I am new to home brewing, only 5 brews in, but got 2 more Saturday. I have been reading about FWH and how it still utilizes the bitterness of the 60min boil additions while still making it ‘smoother.’

So first off, I don’t really understand the mechanism or taste of FWH because I haven’t tasted a FWH beer that I’m aware of to compare it to or been brewing long enough to tinker with it.

Second, can you do it with extract beer kits like after you have steeped the grains, or would the lack of lots of malt make the hop utilization less? i.e. could/would you steep grains put in 1/3-1/2 the malt extract before the boil with the hops then? these questions could continue for a long while for sure.

That’s a really neat question!

I’m an all grainer, but I think you can swing it with extract. In a nut shell, all we’re doing with FWH is letting the hops steep in concentrated ~160F wort that is slowly (or quickly, if batch sparging) being diluted.

I suppose you could accomplish in two ways. First, you could bring your primary volume of wort up to a rest of 150-160 and let your hops steep for a 20-30 mins, but I guess this would complicate the extract late system of brewing that I think most now use?

Secondly, you could create a smaller volume at roughly the gravity of an all grain recipe’s first runnings and later return it to the primary kettle once you’re done steeping your grains, etc. That seems like it might present utilization issues that I don’t understand and might also require you to front load more of your extract than you wish. It seems overly complicated, but it might present a useful avenue to explore for brewers that have a better grasp on extract brewing than myself.

Thanks for the fun problem to mull over. :cheers: