Can I use old bottles?

I am new to home-brewing and am uncertain about whether the bottles I have will be okay for brewing. I recently got three cases of re-used bottles from a guy off craigslist who no longer brews. I believe that the bottles are at least 15 years old and had been sitting in his garage for quite some time. I am planning on making a belgian tripel for my next batch and know that there are higher levels of carbonation with this beer. Will these bottles be able to support the higher carbonation?

Several things to consider. Are they screw on type? If so, they won’t work. Most regular bottles, I’ve heard, are good up to around 3 levels of carb, but I don’t ever go above about 2.6. You’ll need thicker bottles for the Belgians if you’re planning on staying in style. At 15 years old, I’d check these pretty thoroughly for chips and cracks.

New bottles are not that expensive either. Plus, you can just buy commercial beer that you like and save the bottles. That’s what I’ve done. Or get friends to donate their recent empties. Whatever you do, just be cautious. Bottle bombs are no joke.

Welcome to the forum!

Cheers,

Ron

3 Likes

I use bottles from commercial beers in lately had a couple break when bottling they were German ayringer bottles. 15 years old maybe maybe not like @frenchie says bottles are cheap

Thank you so much for the informative response! I am still waiting for my first brew to be ready to drink after bottling and am very excited to try it out. I understand that a Belgian Tripel will require more time and patience but I am looking forward to trying it out. The bottles aren’t twist offs and look to be in good condition but I might get some bombers to try out as well. Would you recommend secondary fermentation for the Tripel or would It be okay leaving it in the primary fermenter for a longer period?

Thanks!