Can BIAB save me time?

I have been brewing AG batches for 8 years now with a Denny style mash tun (it’s blue). Recently there has been a lot of discussions on BIAB or MIAB. I currently have a 10 gallon Boilermaker pot and think that I could have the ideal setup for BIAB. I have someone making the bag for me right now and I plan to brew in the next few weeks to get things going. Since I only have 1 burner I think that this can save me almost an hour or brew day. I won’t have to bother heating up sparge water, or infusion water. Once the mash is done I can fire up the burner and just get things going. Question is -is it really that simple?

Can you take a standard recipe from NB and just do a BIAB? Do most recipes need to be adjusted slightly? I’ve read tons on the various efficiencies people get and some get low, some get normal with BIAB. I figure I’d just do 2 or 3 batches as usual and see where the gravities come out. I always make a 5 gallon batch and don’t ever plan otherwise.

If I can get down to just pulling out my kettle, burner, and my chiller during brew day I just think it would make the day go easier and maybe shorter. Can you guys chime in here? I know BIAB is not necessarily highly regarded here but I can’t pinpoint why exactly. You’re still mashing, still making beer in the end right? Thanks.

I’ve been BIAB’ing for about a year now. I have a single burner (turkey frier setup), but still use 2 pots. I use a 30qrt pot for my mash. While the mash is sitting for an hour, I get my second pot up to temp with my sparge water. So when the mash is done, I pull the grain sack and let it drain for about 5min then dunk the sack in the sparge pot and let it sit for about 10min. While the sparge is sitting, I start bringing the wort from the mash up to a boil. After the sparge has sat for 10min, I add it to the mash wort and bring the entire thing to a boil.