Briess Caramel 20L?

My homebrew shop messed up on my last grain bill, and the ‘mistake’ left me with a 7.5lb bag of Briess Caramel 20L Malt.

I would like to build a batch of beer around this grain, but am not entirely sure what I could use it as a base for, since I’m new to the AG side of things.

Suggestions?
Is this a common grain to use as a base?

well, nothing really…

For most beers I max out on Caramel/crystal malts at 10% of the grain bill. Sometimes a tad more or less. But not a base, it is less fermentable than a basemalt and would leave you with something really sweet.

Any chance you could return. 7.5# is a lot. At least 7 beers worth if you are using that as your main caramel malt.

This is a common grain you could use for a small flavor and/or color addition. Adding a bit (I would say no more than 1lb per 5 gal batch) for anything on the lighter side of the spectrum wouldn’t be off at all.

I use crystal 20 with a little bit of Belgian Biscuit and a small amount of Honey with a Belgian Yeast… I know not everyone likes it but I certainly find it tasty.

Other styles could be APA, IPA, or really anything with just a bit of color really.

As the previous poster said, this cannot be used as a base malt. I’ll spare you the science of it, but it wont work.

If it’s not crushed, it will be good for a while. Put it in ziplock bags and keep it somewhere dry.

Good point, you could save it for a year if not more. If you are thinking about getting into recipe formation so you can use it I’d recommend Ray Daniel’s Designing Great Beers. It’s getting a bit outdated and has always been a bit dry at times but still easy to use and understand.