Brewing Water

Usualy when I brew i go and buy 5gallons of spring water from the grocery store… How can i find out the chemicle make up of my tap water to see if its useable for brewing?.. Anything i should look for? Does anyone use there tap water?

I use tap water every batch I just filter it before and it works well. I started brewing with spring water but have not noticest any changes ater filtering

1st you can ask your Municipal water supplier for a analysis. My city sends out a report yearly. We also draw on several different wells and ground water sources. Depending on the time of year/recent rain the makeup of the water can be different.

You can also send a sample to Ward Labs. W-6 test should answer the question that the treatment plant doesn’t.

http://www.wardlab.com/FeeSchedule/WaterAnalysis.aspx

If you drink your tap water, it is fine for brewing. There are some minor adjustments people do for dark beers and other for hoppy beers.

[quote=“Nighthawk”]
If you drink your tap water, it is fine for brewing. There are some minor adjustments people do for dark beers and other for hoppy beers.[/quote]
For extract beers, YES… but for AG brewing, this is vague. Softer water is better for lighter-colored styles and harder water is better for hoppier and/or darker beers. I agree 100% on the Wards Labs W6 test because you will know exactly what is in your water and with the help of one of the good water spreadsheets out there you will know what styles are good with your water and what you need to do with your water if the style does not fit. I think the best water for brewing is soft water because making additions is easy. I have harder water which is great for beers in the SRM 12 to 17 range. Brewing a pale-colored beer requires me to dilute the water maybe 50% or 75%.

[quote=“Ken Lenard”][quote=“Nighthawk”]
If you drink your tap water, it is fine for brewing. There are some minor adjustments people do for dark beers and other for hoppy beers.[/quote]