Brewing Software Recommendations?

I would like to purchase brewing software as a gift for a friend of mine. He has a MAC so it will have to function with that OS. I was hoping I could get some recommendations. From poking around the internet I’ve found Beer Tools Pro, Promash, and BeerSmith. Are any of these any good?

Thanks!!

[quote=“currlib”]I would like to purchase brewing software as a gift for a friend of mine. He has a MAC so it will have to function with that OS. I was hoping I could get some recommendations. From poking around the internet I’ve found Beer Tools Pro, Promash, and BeerSmith. Are any of these any good?

Thanks!![/quote]
I can’t speak for the others, but I’m happy with Beer Smith 2.

Unless someone has built a preference to a piece of brewing software because that is what they are used to I’d suggest Beer Smith, it gets regular updates and has an active community of users. I use Beer Alchemy on my Mac, mostly because when I started brewing a few years ago Beer Smith wasn’t Mac compatible. Beer Alchemy 2.0 isn’t too far off though and I’ve become partial to it because it also has an iOS app that syncs with the desktop version.

Not that I have any experience with the others but I’ll throw my weight behind Beersmith as well. It has easily been the most useful $25 I have spent on brewing and just playing around with the settings on there has taught me a lot. Not that you need to purchase it to get these things but their website is also helpful. They have style descriptions and recipe formulation outlines for a handful of styles that are pretty good and I listen to their podcast occasionally when I go out for runs.

I grew up with ProMash and it is getting an update.
You can get a trial version at promash.com

I’m on a MAC …I’ve tried them all. And since you can run many Windoze programs on a Mac using Crossover (without the need to install Windoze OS at all), I’ve test driven almost all of the brewing softwares including ProMash.