Brewing small batches

Hello

I’m a novice brewer, I made my first batch of beer a couple of months ago, I brewed InnKeeper, which went very well but I have a question. I made 5 gallons of the ale but im about the only person I know around here who actually drinks real ale, especially Bitter and certain English seasonal ales. 5 gallons is a lot of beer for me to drink quickly and im keen to brew more ale, so is it possible to brew a smaller amount of ale? I have used and for the time being will continue to use extract kits, so if I wanted to make 2 1/2 gallons should I just divide the ingredients by 2? Or does it not work like that?

Cheers

Paul

Short answer, yes. The problem you’ll run into is trying to accurately split up the liquid extract that most kits contain. It may be better to purchase the ingredients separately and use dry extract rather than liquid. A program like Beersmith[/url] or a website like [url=http://www.beersmith.com/]Hopville

will help with the scaling.

Yep that should work out ok. I would just buy an extra vial of yeast so you have one for each brew.

Second beersmith and switching to dry malt extract for ease of use. Both those will help you achieve your goal.

I know you said you’ll stick with extract for the time being but it might be worth it to look into BIAB (brew in a bag). I just started it for experimental batches I’ve written but don’t want five gallons of something that might be horrible. You most likely can do two and a half gallon batches in your extract pot without having to buy anything other than a big brew bag and maybe a strainer. It’s super easy and would be an easy introduction to allgrain.

[quote=“cam0083”]Second beersmith and switching to dry malt extract for ease of use. Both those will help you achieve your goal.