Brewing a big beer, should I do a secondary?

So I brewed my first double IPA (OG 1.115) just over a month ago and just added my first dry hop addition but I read the other day that I should rack it to a secondary?

I have heard that leaving it in the primary for 2 months could create off flavors for sitting in the trub and yeast for that long but I just added my first dry hop addition yesterday so not really sure what I should do. As of right now it has been in the primary for 5 weeks, any thoughts?

Sorry, probably should have put this post in the fermentation section.

THANKS EVERYONE!!

I personally think that these big beers clearly benefit from a long secondary (I’ve been doing it that way for more than 30 years-- most especially for my IPAs-- since it is historically traditional for such brews, and very beneficial for the stronger examples). As to the dry hopping, I usually do that in the secondary and/or the dispensing keg (from which I’ll bottle directly if needed, after the beer has fully conditioned).

You’ll find however that there will be plenty of disagreement these days over whether a secondary transfer is necessary or even desirable…but the truth is that it all boils down to personal preferences, the willingness to ensure sanitation for a risk free transfer (which is not at all difficult), and how much time you’re willing to give a brew to “come together”. My own preference is to get the the beer off of the primary yeast sooner than later: there’s plenty of yeast still in suspension to finish the ferment and do it’s ‘cleanup’ work even if you elect to do the secondary. The end result (to me, anyway) is a cleaner tasting brew.