Bourbon Barrel Porter (?)

Just brewed my first batch after a brief hiatus from brewing. I tweaked the NB Bourbon Barrel Porter recipe slightly as an extract brew. Getting back into the swing of things is leaving my mind restless with some hopefully easy questions that I’m looking for some expert help on!

1. This was my second time using s04 dry yeast and this stuff kicked butt! Fermentation took off within 12 hours like no fermentation I’ve seen before. It was so aggressive it filled my entire 6.5 gallon carboy with krausen and now it looks like someone had a diarrhea accident all over the inside of my carboy. Sure, I usually get a ring around the glass above the 5 gallon line, but I’ve never seen anything like this and it is freaking me out! There are a couple spots I can barely peek through the glass but is this normal? And will the brew be fine sitting in the primary like this?

2. The NB recipe calls for oak cubes but LHBS only carried oak chips. I’ve never used oak before and want to make sure I do it properly. I am planning on soaking 2 oz. in Bourbon for 48 hours and adding the whole batch to the carboy after 2 weeks. First, is there a huge difference between oak cubes and chips to where it would make a difference in the amount used. Second, I have always been against doing a secondary fermentation (because of some reading I’ve done and 1 bad experience) so is it advisable to skip a secondary and add the bourbon and oak to the primary after 2 weeks.

Thanks in advance for any help!

I am getting ready to bottle this and have it in a secondary and just put up a post as well. I soaked my toasted chips for about a month and transfered to a secondary. it is WAY OAKEY! I would possibly age it on oak for a week or less. I am thinking of kegging tonight just to get it off the oak. hope you have better luck. Cheers!