Bourbon Barrel Porter Questions

Hello everyone, I have read and learned a bunch from this forum, but this is my first time posting. I have a few questions about brewing the extract version of the Bourbon Barrel Porter.

1. When I was steeping the grains for the Bourbon Barrel Porter this past Sunday, I lost track of the temp of the water and when I noticed the temp it was almost 195. I immediately took the pot off the burner and then temp lowered to about 150 F before the 20 mins were over. Did this ruin the batch or did I just leach extra tannins out of the grains…if I did just leach extra tannins from the grains, does that just make the beer more bitter or what is the result?

2. I brewed the beer this past Sunday and I didn’t have time to make a starter so I bought 2 packages of Wyeast 1728 - Scottish Ale to pitch. Both packets were swollen when I pitched them and the temp of the wort was approx 77 F. However, I have seen very few signs of fermentation occurring. There haven’t been any air bubbles from the airlock and while there was a small cap of krausen visible in the bucket on Tuesday night, it has completely fallen back into the wort with no head visible at all now. I assumed that since I hit OG (well almost, 1.064 vs expected 1.065) there should be a vigorous fermentation. I haven’t opened up the bucket to take a FG sample, but should do that before I go buy a packet of Nottingham and try to repitch, or just repitch and relax. If I do take another sample, from reading the forums I think it normally finishes near 1.015+/- but sometimes finishes a little higher near 1.02. Should I repitch if it is anything above 1.025 or where it that breaking point?