Back to Shopping at NorthernBrewer.com

Bottle question from a total newbie

Hey all, I have my first ever batch fermenting now and I am already thinking about bottling! I assume that I will want to sanitize the bottles the day that I plan on filling them, do I need to somehow dry them out first or just shake them out and then fill them?

Sorry about the newbie-ness of the question.

If you use a no rinse sanitizer such as StarSan or Iodophhor at the recommended strengths, you do not need to rinse.

The first thing you need to do with the bottles is to make sure there is no crud in them… a good soak in unscented oxyclean followed by a good rinse should do the trick. If there is remaining crud, you may need to get a bottle brush and scrub well.

Do yourself a favor. When you finish drinking a bottle… rinse it very well as soon as possible… don’t let it sit overnight or it will certainly leave a somewhat to very difficult layer of crud.

Just allow them to drip dry. Do you have something to set them upside down with? Bottle tree or an empty dishwaher work good.

And, fill an empty 20oz soda bottle (not rootbeer). Squeeze the air out and screw the cap on.

The bottle will expand as co2 is produced. Thus you know the glass bottles are carbonating also.

Some like to stir the beer after every 6-12 bottles also. They feel this keeps the priming sugar mixed better.