Boil off

First timer here. Well, actually I’m starting my second batch.
I’m doing 1 gallon kits right now and my question is about adjusting for boil off.
Instructions for my NB 1 gallon kit calls for 1.25 gallons to start but with my first batch I boiled off over 2 qts. I had some other water boiled so I just added a little before cooling to get close to a gallon in the fermenter. Fermenting seemed to go well and it’s in bottles now.

What would be the best approach on my second try?
Start with more water in the boil kettle or just top it off after boiling like the 5 gallon kits recommend?
thanks

I have no experience whatsoever with 1-gallon batches.

That said, you’re always going to be better off with a full-volume boil. You’ll end up with lighter-colored beer because a concentrated wort will cause the sugars to partially caramelize. You’ll also get better hop utilization out of a more dilute boil. It’s easier for hop acids and oils to dissolve into a less concentrated wort.

If I were you, I’d certainly shoot for ending up with 1 gallon.

Better yet, I think you’d find it much easier to brew a larger batch. Five gallon batches are the standard, but they aren’t the only option. I brewed about 100 5-gallon batches and now have scaled back to 3 gallons. It’s really allowing me to brew more often and work through recipes faster, yet I still get a decent amount of beer out of a batch. I can also brew a regular 5.5 or 6 gallon batch and split it for experiments.

In my opinion, brewing at such a small scale just complicates things. Enjoy the journey. :cheers: