Blowout on first batch

Hi All!

I’m a complete newbie on these forums and at homebrewing in general, so I apologize if this question has been asked. I tried searching old posts and couldn’t find my answer.

I just brewed my first ever batch a couple days ago. It’s the 5 gallon extract kit of Caribou Slobber (came with my deluxe starter kit). The first 6-8 hours showed little to no fermentation activity, so I went to sleep for the night. Woke up the next morning and found it to have blown the airlock and bung onto the floor and krausen had started to run out of the carboy. I immediately sanitized what I needed, cleaned up and put in the blow off tube. Everything’s been fine since putting in the blow off tube and fermentation has relaxed drastically. Seems like just the first 24-36 hours were vigorous fermentation.

Just curious if anyone can shine some light on possible reasons why I got such a sudden and aggressive fermentation? One thing I should mention is that my thermometer could not reach the wort once it was in the carboy, so I had to guess on the temperature when pitching the yeast (I used the dry Danstar Windsor Ale Yeast that comes with Caribou Slobber by default). The carboy was not warm to the touch, so it should have been fine to pitch the yeast according to my instructions. Also, the temperature of the room I’m fermenting in is about 68 degrees. No idea what the wort heated up to during fermentation.

I’m not expecting this beer to turn out as fabulous as others have described it because it’s my first attempt at brewing, but I at least want to learn from my mistakes and improve with each batch, so any advice one can lend is greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

with your next order, grab a sticky thermometer strip that can go on the outside of the carboy. They are about $0.79, and are really convenient.