Back to Shopping at NorthernBrewer.com

Black Eye Rye (Your Thoughts Please)

Black Eye Rye
Imperial black rye IPA
This is my first attempt at this style of beer.

I do not want to make a boring black IPA just for the sake of color. I’m going for a grain bill that will produce a very complex layering of malt flavors that have just a touch of roastyness.

[size=150]Please Share your thoughts[/size]

Batch Size (fermenter): 10.50 gal
Estimated OG: 1.086
Estimated FG: 1.018
Mash: 151 degrees
ABV: 9.0
Estimated Color: 28.3 SRM
Estimated IBU: 94.8 IBUs
Boil Time: 60 Minutes

Grains:
21 lbs Pale Malt (2 Row) US (2.0 SRM) 59.2 %
4 lbs 8.0 oz Rye Malt (4.7 SRM) 12.7 %
4 lbs Munich Malt - 10L (10.0 SRM) 11.3 %
2 lbs 8.0 oz Caramel/Crystal Malt - 60L (60.0 SRM) 7.0 %
2 lbs Barley, Flaked (1.7 SRM) 5.6 %
12.0 oz Carafa III (525.0 SRM) 2.1 %
12.0 oz Chocolate Rye Malt (250.0 SRM) 2.1 %

Hops:
4.50 oz Calypso [14.00 %] - First Wort 60.0 min 94.8 IBUs
4.00 oz Mosaic [12.00 %] - Aroma Steep 0.0 min (Whirlpool 20min) 0.0 IBUs
4.00 oz Mosaic [12.00 %] - Dry Hop 7.0 Days 0.0 IBUs

Yeast:
2.0 pkg Wyeast Labs #1764 Pacman

Personally I would find that beer difficult to drink. Way too hoppy for me, and I hate Mosaic hops with a passion – don’t need no litterbox in my beer, thank you very much. But… there’s no real technical problems. So whatever floats your boat. If you’ve tasted Mosaic before and loved it, you’ll probably love this beer. Looks like it fits your goal of Impy Black Rye IPA.

Just a couple minor comments:

I do think you would have a very hard time hitting an OG of 1.086 with that beer. You’ll probably get closer to 1.078 unless you crush like mad and you know your system really well. But maybe that’s good enough anyway? You decide. If not, add a couple extra pounds of base malt and call it good.

You’ll also want to throw a couple pounds of rice hulls into the mash, or the rye and flaked barley will scum everything up and you’ll have a stuck mash.