Big mouth bubbler?

So it is my first time using my 6.5 gallon plastic big mouth bubbler. I love it so far, especially putting everything in it, but after the first 12 hours my blow off tube stopped bubbling. I replaced it with a air lock and nothing either. The thing is, I’m still seeing plenty of fermentation activity. So I’m wondering if there is a leak? It would have to be small. I think I saw others saying they’ve had this issue with theirs, but I just want to make sure it isn’t a big problem.

Thanks! :cheers:

Buckets often act this way. I bet you’re fine.

Since there isn’t any kind of gasket on the lid, the possibility of a small leak is there. Check to make sure that the rim of the bubbler is perfectly smooth, and you could use a little food grade lubricant there to help the seal. A leak that small shouldn’t cause you any trouble, though.

I understand your concern. Some of us just find enormous comfort in watching those little bubbles move through the airlock!

:cheers:

Ron

I was thinking of these just yesterday as I was trying the clean the dried crud from inside my carboy by swirling a washcloth inside. It sure would be nice to just reach in by hand.

Actually, there is a very thin gasket in the lid. I bought a 5-pack of replacement gaskets along with my bubbler. Mine has held pressure for about two weeks now - racking to the keg this week.

I didn’t find a gasket with mine–that would be nice. Mine has held pressure even without one, though. I just have to screw the lid down very tightly.

Gonna get some of those gaskets. Thanks, Capitan.

:cheers:

Ron

The glass BMB’s come with a lid gasket. Plastic versions do not. On the plastic version, the white lid has an outer groove so that it sits inside the opening of the container. A gasket would not help that seal. Just make sure the lid is seated properly and tighten the ring.