BIAB

A lot of my friends on this forum advocated BIAB, so I tried it. It works well. I get the same extraction efficiency as with my tun and can knock out a 5 gallon batch in 4 hrs. If I learned this way first I probably would never have done it differently. I have some recipes that I split my mash by percentages and make two five gallon beers that are completely different and for that I will use my tun. But other than that what are the benefits of a tun?

LOL!!! As a newbie, I asked this question on here and another forum a while back, and on the other forum was treated like a Troll and shunned!!! :lol:

…the gist of all the responses I got on here was: “6 in one, a half dozen in the other” if you’re doing “smaller” batches. Just get your wort. It was all personal preference.

For those doing large batches, however, the BIAB starts to become a little limiting based on the size of the grain bill.

For me, the benefit is that it’s easier to use than a bag. I find a wet, heavy, hot bag a PITA to deal with. BTW, using my cooler tun, I can also knock out a batch in 4 hours.

I had a house guest last week and he was a brewer. I gave him a tasting of my beer which he exclaimed were much better than his. He started talking about step mashes and fly sparging.when I told him I single infuse and batch sparge and sometimes biab he thought I was joking. He said its hard to find six or seven hours to brew I told him I can tuck in a biab batch in four hrs. Then he started calling BS. He then said after he learns the process he’s going to try it.

For me, the benefit is that it’s easier to use than a bag. I find a wet, heavy, hot bag a PITA to deal with. BTW, using my cooler tun, I can also knock out a batch in 4 hours.[/quote]