BIAB particulars

I do occasional BIAB batches. Right now I have a rectangular 70Qt cooler that I use for mashing. It’s rather cumbersome because my bag does not fit well in it. The cooler is way larger than the bag. So I end up juggling the bag opening while stirring and getting the mash going. I always feel like I am one small mistake away from having the grains spill out of the bag and into the cooler. So I considered getting a round 10 gallon cooler this spring. So my question is:

with my rectangular cooler the grains are very spread out and and in very good contact with the water. IN a round 10 gallon I would think they would be more restricted and packed together. Does this compaction in the smaller cooler cause any problems as compared to the non compaction of the big rectangular cooler? Does contact with the water make for better mashing or does it not really matter once the grains are wet and warm?

Don’t quote me on this since I’m not a BIAB expert (or brewing expert for that matter), but I don’t think it matters.

Thinking about it, there will still be a sort of grain bed in the bag in the cooler. In one, you’re bed is spread out and thin, in the other it’s very thick. I don’t think it matters as long as it’s all mixed well and wet. It still acts the same, just in different shapes essentially.

wait maybe I just read your post too quickly, but why are you using a cooler at all? One of the benefits of BIAB is that you can just remove the bag from your kettle and you only use one vessel…