Best Oatmeal Stout Kit

One of my favorite beers is Sam Smiths Oatmeal Stout. I am currently brewing a batch of Irish Red ale and would like to brew a batch of oatmeal stout as close in taste to the Sam Smiths as possible. Because I’m new to brewing I want to purchase a kit and my question is “What kits can closest replicate the Sam Smith’s Oatmeal Stout” ? I was actually speaking with a guy from Mid-West Brewing supplies and he admitted their oatmeal stout was not as good as the Smiths.

If you’re all grain, here’s a clone recipe I found:

http://www.brewtoad.com/recipes/samuel- ... ut-clone-4

I’m not sure the best way to convert that to extract if that’s what you’re looking for.

First, I don’t see how a proper oatmeal stout can be made without either doing a mini-mash or all grain batch. Oats need to be mashed.

Yeast selection will make a big difference. I’ve used Irish ale yeast and Wyeast 1968 in my oatmeal stout recipes. I detected esters in both that were present in Samuel Smith’s, but neither were a spot on match. Both make a nice oatmeal stout.

A general tip that I doubted, but found does make a difference in an oatmeal stout: toast the oatmeal in your oven at 300°F until it starts to turn slightly golden. Maybe 20-25 min.

Thanks for the advice. I did find a Oatmeal Stout Partial Mash Kit on this website. Since this will be only my second batch of beer I should probably stick to a more simple recipe. Someday I hope to start all grain brewing, but for now I’m just happy if what I make is drinkable :slight_smile: