Back to Shopping at NorthernBrewer.com

Belgian Witbier low ABV question

Hey folks!

So a quick question: Just bottled the Belgian Witbier kit over the weekend, and my FG was 1.01, which, from all I can tell, gives me an ABV of 3.9% (OG was 1.04)… For anybody that has brewed this kit before, does this sound a little low to you?

This is my 3rd brew, so I’m new to this. I followed the directions with the exception that I didn’t rack to a 2ndary. Quite honestly, I had gotten a little busy, but I understand that a good many people skip that step without incident. For the entire time that it was in the primary fermenter, there was NO action in the airlock - Which, I also know is not the be-all-end-all indication of fermentation, but still, I thought it was odd. I could get a few bubbles if I pressed down on the lid, but that was a bout it. Furthermore, I kept my fermenter in a second floor hall closet. There was maybe a day where the temp got above 75, but I don’t really think that was an issue.

Is this all pretty much par for the course? I’m not terribly worried about it, but it did seem a bit low to me… Just looking to see if anybody has any thoughts?

Thanks!
-Pete

I’m sure everything is fine, just a little lower on the alcohol than you might have preferred, but will probably taste great.