Beer coming out of spigot even with CO2 disconnected

I am brand new to kegging. I kegged my beer last weekend and set the gauge to 20PSI for a week. The beer is carbonated great. When I turned down the pressure for serving (~7PSI), beer came out of the spigot without evening pressing the button to dispense (I used a picnic dispenser). Any idea what the problem would be?

I tried dispensing for the other keg I have. I kegged the beer 30 minutes prior and the same thing happened with an independent dispenser. I’m sure it is user error, but what am I doing wrong?

Not sure if I’m understanding but a pressurized keg (a keg filled with carbonated beer) will still dispense even if the gas is not connected because that beer is under pressure and there is pressure in the headspace in the keg. You could probably dispense a number of beers w/o gas being applied because of that pressure but eventually the pressure would fade and you would need to reconnect the gas. Is this a picnic tap? Is the tap in the locked-open position? Hmm… not sure if I’m getting this right.

Is the picnic tap lever in the “up” locked open position and pouring beer out?

Or is the beer just trickling out?

[quote=“Nighthawk”]Is the picnic tap lever in the “up” locked open position and pouring beer out?

Or is the beer just trickling out?[/quote]
Yeah, I envisioned that at the end of my post. I’ve connected a cobra tap to a keg when the tap was locked open. Many, many times. Then I try desperately to close it while beer is being launched across the room and hilarity ensues! :o

I don’t know if I would call it hilarity, I never find myself laughing while cleaing beer off the wall. A few times I have connected the beer line after cleaning the picnic tap and having forgot to replace the top of the tap all together. When you do that beer shoots in two directions.