Batch Sparge Question

I’m trying to refine my batch sparge process and have a couple of questions for those of you with more expeirence. After adding the Sparge water how long do you wait until running off? Do you just wait long enough for the grain bed to settle or some set amount of time like 30 minutes? Also, do most people stir the grain after adding the Sparge water or just add then wait? Thanks.

I add the water, stir and then wait 10-15 minutes and then drain. I’m no expert, but I seem to have good efficiency.

Add your sparge water. Stir the crap out of it. I noticed a bump in efficiency with a vigorous stirring versus just mixing. Don’t go crazy, splashing everywhere but get it good and mixed, knock the sugar off the grain. Once I’m done stirring I start the vaurlof right away. I don’t open the valve all the way, but run off slowly. Pour back in the wort but do so as to try and not disturb the grain bed. I repeat this a bunch, it settles the grain bed. Then I start running off into the boil kettle with the ball valve about half open. Works every time.

I used to pour, stir and wait a half hour before running off. Then I cut it down to fifteen minutes. Now I just do this. No stuck sparges. Good efficiency.

Ya don’t need to wait. Just add sparge water stir and start spargung. there is not going to be any efficiency increase waiting.

This. I have done many experiments with wait times from 30 min. to immediate runoff. I have found nothing is gained by waiting, so now I stir in the water, vorlauf, and runoff immediately.

So if you just stir then drain why use a cooler? Other than being a handy sized cheap container. Good thread as iam about to start batch sparging to.

Because you need to let the mash rest for 60+ min. before you sparge. The cooler holds the heat during the mash.