Basic Question about Fermenting

This is my first time brewing and very excited to have a couple brews ready by Christmas! I just want to make sure I do everything correctly, so here is my question if anyone is willing to answer:

I am brewing the Chinook IPA and Bavarian Hefeweizen and I purchased the Deluxe Start Kit with an additional Glass Carboy. The riddle is, am I able to brew them both today? The Chinook requires a secondary fermentation (requiring the 6 gal. carboy) but the Hefe does not. The simple question really is if you’re only going to do a primary fermentation, do I use the 5 gal. carboy for that, only?

Thank You in advance, wish me luck!

• Matt

You don’t have to do a 2nd with either, a longer primary will work. A 5 gal carboy doesn’t give you much room, so keep temps down and be prepared for blowoff.
The hefe will probably have a vigorous fermentation, so I’d use the 6 gal for that one.

Thank You, if you’re able to answer this, then please.

I have already activated my liquid weihenstephen wyeast for the Bavarian, and I don’t want to go to waste. I may just do what you suggested, but can I use two 5 gal carboys to ferment 5 gals of brew? In other words, if I fill 2 5 gals with 2.5 gal of brew to ferment, would that have an effect of the beer in the end? Because I was thinking that would be good if it works.

Thank You.

you could also stick that pack in the fridge and buy another fermenter…especially for your first brew; keep it simple and learn what you are doing with the recipe and recommended methods by brewing 5 gallon batches for five gallon recipes.

just my thought that yopu could always brew that next beer, next week; the yeast will be fine.