1 oz Summit (60 min)
1 oz Ahtanum (15 min)
1 oz Cascade (15 min)
1 oz Ahtanum (5 min)
1 oz Cascade (5 min)
1 oz Ahtanum (dry hop)
1 oz Cascade (dry hop)

Wyeast 1450

Think this will finish too sweet with the munich and carared? I’m open to suggestions on both the malt bill and hop schedule. Thanks!

Some AAU’s or IBU’s might help.
Whose Munich ?

Looks fine, 6% crystal is quite restrained. Munich isn’t sweet, just bready.

If you are worried about sweetness add in some sugar to dry it out a bit. I personally would do more maris (14) and less munich (3) and I believe the amount of cara is good. I have found too much crystal really messes with the beer. I’m not a fan of the FWH, but let us know how it goes.

Cheers !

Thanks for the feedback everyone. I’m still really new to all-grain, so I basically wanted somebody to tell me if it sounded completely nasty. Sounds like it will be okay. :smiley:

I ran it through Beersmith, and reduced the Munich to 4 pounds to get it down to an expected abv of 9.1% (it was pushing 10%). Considering reducing it even more to shoot for 8.5%. I’m a little worried about the yeast tolerating that high of an alcohol level. Will the Denny’s 50 be fine up to 9% or so?

Also, I came up with 75.8 IBUs, which is on the low end of the style guidelines in Beersmith. I could up the Summit to 1.5 oz and get it to 95 IBUs, but I’ve heard that after a certain level of IBUs is reached, any additional IBUs are not noticeable. I will probably just leave it as it is unless somebody really thinks it is too low.

Thanks again!

I like the grain bill, but also agree about adding some sugar. I add some sugar to all of my IPAs and APAs because I like them to be on the dry side. I’d pull out a little Munich and Marris Otter and add cane sugar to get the gravity back up to where you want it. For a beer that big, I’d use at least 1lb of sugar. But again, this is just my personal preference.