American Wheat

Hello Everyone,

I’m looking at brewing my first AG wheat beer this weekend, NB’s American Wheat kit (4 lbs. White Wheat & 4 lbs 2-row Pale, hopped with some Willamette and Cascade - I went with Wyeast 1010 for yeast). As this is my first time brewing this style, I have a few general questions:

1. Would this be considered a soft water beer?
  2. Would this beer benefit from a 90 minute boil?
  3. Is it true that wheat beers are better consumed earlier than later?
  4. Since wheat beers are cloudy by nature, would I want to skip any sort of gel solutions or cold crashing?
  5. I think I’ve read that some people have seen noticeable drops in efficiency with wheat beers, is this so and are there any workarounds?
  6. Any other words of wisdom?

Thanks in advance for your comments!

[quote=“Dan S”]Hello Everyone,

I’m looking at brewing my first AG wheat beer this weekend, NB’s American Wheat kit (4 lbs. White Wheat & 4 lbs 2-row Pale, hopped with some Willamette and Cascade - I went with Wyeast 1010 for yeast). As this is my first time brewing this style, I have a few general questions:

1. Would this be considered a soft water beer?

I don’t know, wouldn’t worry about water chemistry on 1st AG

1. Would this beer benefit from a 90 minute boil?

No, only to reduce volume.

1. Is it true that wheat beers are better consumed earlier than later?

Yes.

1. Since wheat beers are cloudy by nature, would I want to skip any sort of gel solutions or cold crashing?

2 weeks in the fermenter, then bottle. I’ve read that some have put 1Tbls of flour in the boil to create a permanent haze. Have not tried it myself. Will in a month or so.

1. I think I’ve read that some people have seen noticeable drops in efficiency with wheat beers, is this so and are there any workarounds?

Have some DME on hand to add at the end of the boil. It is your 1st AG. You need 3-5 brews to find out how YOUR system works. Then you can add or subtract 2Row to make efficiency changes.