Back to Shopping at NorthernBrewer.com

Already doing partial mash?

Hi all,

I am still pretty new to the hobby, but I have a few brews under my belt, and I’m increasingly happy with the output of the extract kits I’m using. Because I would like a little more room to explore (and screw up, if it happens), I started researching the partial mash method. However, I’m now pretty confused–it sounds like this is just exactly what I’ve been doing with the speciality grain option (as in steeping the grains) from NB?

Is that true, or is there a nuance I’m missing here that makes it “partial mash?”

And if that’s the case, how do I accommodate my wandering soul here? I’d like to try putting a recipe or two together, maybe, or just trying some different grains, but I was thinking that by using extract kits I’m really locked in, and I’m not really ready to do all grain (nor, to be fair, is my wife ready to buy a new set of equipment).

In any case, I guess I’m looking for advice on stepping up the complexity and challenge of the process in a reasonable way. Any suggestions welcome. Thanks in advance!

-Jeff

The roasting process used to create the specialty grains convert the starches to sugar. So you can just steep them to extract the color and a little sugar.

When using a base malt ( 2row, 6row, Pilsner, …) you need to mash (steep) them for 60 minutes, at ~150* to allow the enzymes in the grain to convert starches to sugar.

The difference between steeping and PM, you don’t get much sugar out of a steep.

You can take any recipe and convert it to PM. 1st you need to know how much grain you can “mash”. Then using a recipe calculator, enter the recipe as it’s written, noting the OG/SRM. Then add in the base grain to the level that you can work with. Then delete the LME/DEM until you get the OG the recipe calls for.

Clear as mud? :shock: