Aji Amarillo Peppers in Secondary

Hey All,

I’m in my last few days of primary on this Gojira ale and the kit calls for adding Aji Amarillo Peppers to the secondary for a few days. My question is what is the best way to add these in? Whole? Chopped? My fear is if I were to chop/cut them up that the resulting beer will have too much heat to be enjoyable, though I’ve never used these peppers before.

Any advice on using peppers? Thanks in advance!

:cheers:

I recently made a Mango Habanero Cream Ale and didn’t want to overdo the heat. I chopped a couple of peppers up and soaked them in cheap vodka. After a few days the vodka was smoking hot. I added some of the infused vodka (no peppers) to the bottling bucket when I transferred. It wasn’t quite enough heat so I added a little more to where I wanted it. I think you have a little more control of the heat level this way rather than dropping the peppers in. Plus, you can wait to be sure the batch is exactly where you want it before adding the heat.

+1 to the method above. One of the big problems with peppers is you have no way, without some sophisticated equipment, to measure the content of the individual vegetable (fruit?). Better to be able to control it based on your own palette I say.

I actually really like this idea. A couple questions I have regarding to this technique.

1.) How much vodka did you use? 8oz?
2.) Should I anticipate the heat to intensify as the beer conditions?

I think this might be the route I take. I’m not sure how hot the amarillo peppers are.

Cheers!

[quote=“anthonyterrell”]

I actually really like this idea. A couple questions I have regarding to this technique.

1.) How much vodka did you use? 8oz?
2.) Should I anticipate the heat to intensify as the beer conditions?

I think this might be the route I take. I’m not sure how hot the amarillo peppers are.

Cheers![/quote]