Back to Shopping at NorthernBrewer.com

Aging

I’m still learning and brewing small batches, so the question of aging has never been an issue. However, I want to brew some Bomber Barleywine and Bourbon Barrel Porter and leave them alone until next winter. Will these age well? Is there a rule about which beers age well and which don’t?

yes, those will age well. A rule of thumb is high gravity beers (above 8%) should age well. Hoppy beers are usually preferred fresh as the hop flavor tends to fade.

They do, but on the other hand the hops help preserve the beer. I always hop a beer that is going to be aged high enough so that it will be just right after a year or so.

One thing I always do for long term beers is use oxygen barrier caps if bottling. Just me.

+1 And be extra careful not to introduce oxygen at bottling time. If you can, flush your bottling bucket with CO2 ahead of time.

Temperature is also a concern. I have made some fantastic strong beers that were crap after spending the summer in a 78 degree closet. I don’t like oxidation even when it is sherry rather than cardboard. The same beers that managed to get into my beer storage fridge were fine even after two years. You should try to age them below 65 degrees if you can.

This post by Martyn Cornell is good, reflects what others have said above, with some interesting history thrown in;

I’m making the same two recipes this winter for next winter’s enjoyment. I have the barleywine in the fermenter now. As soon as it comes out in a couple of days I’ll brew the porter.

So how did yours come out, anything interesting to report? And what bourbon did you use?

Hop flavor may fade somewhat, but in my own experience I’ve found that hop bitterness hangs in there pretty well after aging, provided that the proposed aging in factored into the original recipe.