Back to Shopping at NorthernBrewer.com

Aging Mid-Strength Beers

I know high strength beers generally need to be aged for months. Is there a rule of thumb for mid-strength beers (e.g., 6-8% ABV)

I have exclusively brewed <6% ABV beers since I started brewing about a year ago. I recently brewed one that finished at 7.1% and want to ensure I’ve got a good game plan. I package in bottles.

I just taste every so often & drink when I like it. I like to put a few bottles aside to forget about to see how they age over a long time. if I don’t drink them all first. :roll:

The rule of thumb is that there is no set rule. Personally, I like to age most beers over 6.5% for at least 3-4 months, but only you can decide when any beer ready to enjoy. I know brewers who brew big “Old Ales” and consume the batches before they even reach 2 months (mine age for at least 12 months+).

On a side note: is an 8% beer really considered to be “mid strength” these days???
That certainly pushes the old claim of beer being the “beverage of moderation” right out the door! :shock:
Just the American penchant for supersizing everything, I suppose.

Perhaps I should have phrased the question differently. I know I can taste test and each batch will perform a bit differently. I’m not completely devoid of common sense. :wink: I was just wondering if guys who have done enough batches in this range have developed general guidelines over time that they have found work well.

[quote=“The Professor”]
On a side note: is an 8% beer really considered to be “mid strength” these days???
That certainly pushes the old claim of beer being the “beverage of moderation” right out the door! :shock:
Just the American penchant for supersizing everything, I suppose.[/quote]

I’m sure if you ask 10 different people, you’ll get 10 different scales. I’m making this up as I type, but I would classify strength as follows:
<5% = session beer
5-6% = regular strength
6-8% = mid-strength

8% = high strength