Aeration

I have been doing the “shake” method for the last 10 years. I have been considering getting an air pump and stone. Who uses them and is it worth the $35?

I was reading Yeast from Chris White of Yeast Labs, and Jamil’s book which said you can only achieve the minimum PPM’s by shaking, and that with pure oxy and a stone you can achieve best results every time on all beer styles. I have been using pure oxy and a stone for years now and wouldn’t change. Just one of the little things of several new things I believe that have helped me to making better beer.
I would say, go for it, yes it was well worth it for me.

Not sure if I’m qualified to answer this being a noob but, I went to oxygen and the air stone. The results have been very good for me. Seems like ferm starts quicker and gets more “violent” than me doing the “carboy boogie”. I got the stone, hose and valve from NB and the oxygen bottle from Ace Hardware. Beats the heck out of shaking a carboy and less strenuous.

I’d go oxygen over an aquarium air pump for the reasons cited above.

I am still a shaker and quite happy with my results BUT from my research there is no advantage to pumping air over shaking/mixstir/whatever. Only bottled O2 will allow you to saturate wort with more O2 than using air. That said, the O2 vs shake is heavily debated and there is no conclusive evidence to prove or disprove either technique. There was a study that compared various methods and found that just pouring wort into the carboy was nearly suffice dissolved O2 needed for fermentation. There’s no argument that injecting O2 is far easier than shaking tho. :cheers:

I’ve used a stone and o2 tank but honestly can’t tell any difference from the natural aeration I get from pumping the wort through my plate chiller then letting it splash into the fermemter. I end up with a heavy foam on top after it’s chilled and have noticed no difference in lag time when i use the O2 bottle.

I use this: