Adding fruit to specialty grains?

I have been brewing extract beers for a couple of years now and I like to try to clone some of my favorite brews. One of those brews is O’so Brewing Co. Big O. It is an Orange flavored wheat that I would like to replicate. My plan would be to purchase a wheat extract brewing kit and add some type of orange flavoring to the brewing process. I just would like to know what would be the best time to add the orange flavoring whether it would be orange peels in the specialty grains, orange extract in secondary, or orange zest just before bottling.

I would add zest (sterilized by vodka) into the fermenter. Either from day one, or maybe after fermentation is complete. Or both. Your call.

It depends on what kind of flavor element you are adding.

Extracts would be added just before bottling.

Juice or actual fruit would go in after the fermentation is mostly done, but you will want to keep the fruit in the fermentor for a long time to allow the yeast to finish off the new sugars that the fruit bring into the beer.

Something like zest could go in at the very end of the boil, or any time after that, though you’ll want to make sure it sits in the beer for at least 4-5 days (longer is OK) to let the flavors work their way out.

If you try to boil fruit, all the aroma and most of the flavor will dissipate with the steam. Worse, it will set the fruit pectin leading to hazy beer

Have you ever had orange juice ferment on you in the fridge? Like that taste? DON’T add orange juice or fruit.