Adding Darker Grains at Mash-Out

Hello Everyone,

I’m looking at brewing Gordon Strong’s Lakeside Stout from “Brewing Better Beer” this weekend. In this recipe, he recommends waiting to add the darker grains until mash-out to achieve a smoother taste in the final beer, which is something I’ve never tried before. Since I batch sparge, this would mean that the milled crystal and roasted grains would only remain in the mash (at approx. 168*) for 10 minutes following collection of the first runnings.

I was wondering:

1. Has anyone tried this method to good effect, or perhaps found the difference negligible?

2. If I use this split mashing method, am I correct that I would need to use Bru’n Water to calculate the main mash water additions (which would use only the pale malt and oats) separately from the mash-out additions (which would incorporate the darker grains)?

3. How would I calculate the required mash-out water temperature since I would be adding room temperature grains to the previously heated grain bed along with the mash-out water?

4. Can anyone see any other considerations I might be overlooking?

Done this many times with great results - I do it either to keep the roasted character subdued or as a pH control for the main mash. You do need to calculate mash pH minus the dark grains but you don’t need to worry about temp or pH change with the addition, just add them for maybe 10 minutes before draining the first runnings.

Thanks, Shadetree - I’ll give it a go!

[quote=“Dan S”]Hello Everyone,

I’m looking at brewing Gordon Strong’s Lakeside Stout from “Brewing Better Beer” this weekend. In this recipe, he recommends waiting to add the darker grains until mash-out to achieve a smoother taste in the final beer, which is something I’ve never tried before. Since I batch sparge, this would mean that the milled crystal and roasted grains would only remain in the mash (at approx. 168*) for 10 minutes following collection of the first runnings.

I was wondering: