About to get into kegging

Hi all.

I have had a 20 year hiatus from brewing that is about to end. I am a fan of lower alcohol beers to have on hand whenever a beer is called for, and they are always called for so I prefer them in the 3% to 4% range.

I have never done kegging before, only bottled and I do not want to spend time bottling something I am going to drink a lot of.

We can probably be really boring about what I should do, but what shouldn’t I do with kegging? What mistakes is a kegging newb most likely to make or what mistakes did you make with kegging that you would like to see me repeat but don’t have the heart to let me?

Thanks

Kegging is pretty simple really. I tried the force carb route first but now I use the set it and forget it. You need a minimum of two kegs with two carbonation lines. Set it for 12 psi and leave it there , drink one while the other carbonates. Depending how fast you drink the beer you may need more kegs to keep the pipe line flowing. Good luck

I was thinking about carbonating with sugar and just use the co2 for dispensing.

I am planning on having two kegs for brew that is less than 5% and use bottles for brew that needs more aging.

Make sure everything is tight and secure. I have on more than one occasion found my co2 tank empty, or 5 gallons of beer in the bottom of my keggerator from a stuck poppet or loose ball lock connector.

Thanks.

Asside from an empty co2 tank or beer puddle, what is the way to tell something might have a weakness before the beer goes in?

What is a checklist you might have after the beer goes in?

Also why is bleach not used on kegs?

Spray around all your fitting with starsan after you co2 seal,if you see bubbling it’s leaking. I imagine you could use bleach but you would need to rinse rinse and rinse some more. Starsan is odorless and tasteless and pretty much the standerd sanitizer.