Back to Shopping at NorthernBrewer.com

A taste I dont like

Hi

I am new to making home made beer really enjoy it but I keep getting a taste i dont like. I have made an IPA and a Brown and they both have a sour end, a lemony taste. I have used the same tap water. I never wrote down the yeast i used in the brown but every thing esle about the beer is different. Any suggestions on how to get rid of this taste. V

Does your water have chlorine in it, and if so, do you take any steps to remove it?

No we have a well, we have a water softener, and an iron out filter.

Maybe the softener? If it does ion exchange with sodium, it can affect the flavor.

What about the ph level of the mash how important is that

It can be quite important. The first thing I’d try, though, is to draw water before it goes through your softener. Maybe send a sample of pre-softener water to Ward Lab (www.wardlab.com) . Get test W-6…it’s about $16 bucks or so. You’ll get all the water info you need for brewing. Even if it is your pH, you can’t start to adjust it until you have a baseline water report. You need to know what minerals are in your water along with the pH.

Do you know a web site that explains the information that a water test will give me

You can look at www.wardlab to see the info you’ll get. Then take a look at this https://sites.google.com/site/brunwater/water-knowledge to help you interpret it.

You could try using spring/distilled water in your next batch. That would eliminate water as the source.

Agreed, while you’re waiting for water test results, use bottled spring water. Avoid distilled water at this point because you would need to add back ions such as Calcium, Magnesium, Sulfate and Chloride.
If the off-taste is gone, then you will know it’s something in your well water.