A nice summer Summit IPA

So I’ve got some family visiting here in Chicago this summer. I just started brewing and this will be my fourth batch I’ll be on. I thinking of my first creation for when they arrive in July. Something that will be light, sweet citrusy nose on a sunny day on the lake.

I’ve created a base recipe based off a couple other NB recipes. I’m looking for any obvious newcomer advice on this recipe. Like if I should only use 1oz of Summit hops instead of 2 due to overpowering, etc etc.

Let me know your thoughts!

(5gal batch)

Ingredients:

• 6 gallons of Gold Malt Extract

• 1LB Briess Caramel 20L Malts

• 2oz Summit Hops

• 2oz Citra Hops

• 1oz Columbus Hops

Brew Day:

1. Steep 1 lb Briess Caramel Malts @ 150F for 25 minutes, then remove from pot.
  2. Bring pot to a boil
  3. Remove from heat and stir in 6 gallons of malt extract, once mixed well, return to heat.
  4. Add 1 oz of Summit hops
  5. 20 minutes in add 1 oz Summit hops
  6. 50 minutes in add 1 oz Citra hops
  7. Flame out at 60 minutes

Primary Fermentation: 1-2 weeks
Secondary Fermentation 1-2 weeks

Dry Hopping (during secondary, 5-7 days before bottling/kegging):

• Add 1 oz Citra hops
  • Add 1 oz Columbus hops

Am I reading this right 6 gallons of malt extract???

The hop schedule is subjective and often depends on how bitter or how much aroma you want. Do you have a brewing program that you can enter this into to see where it comes out in IBUs? I do like that you are dry hopping it. I went ahead and entered your hops into Beersmith and summit has an average of 17% AA. With your hopping schedule the summit alone with provide 120 IBUs… something you want to check out.

I see the 6 gallons of LME and figure you mean 6 lbs.