2 different yeast strains

Hi,

I am somewhat new to brewing and was wondering if I can use 2 different yeast strains in 1 batch. I bought a Brewhouse Stout beer kit which comes with Coopers yeast, but heard I should use a liquid yeast instead.

Cheers!

Why would you want to use two instead of just using one or the other?

Either will make good beer, it is just personal preference between dry or liquid. And with liquid you get a lot more variety.

[quote=“nemesis2a”]Hi,

I am somewhat new to brewing and was wondering if I can use 2 different yeast strains in 1 batch. I bought a Brewhouse Stout beer kit which comes with Coopers yeast, but heard I should use a liquid yeast instead.

Cheers![/quote]

dry yeast has come a long way. In my opinion it can make just as good beer as liquid. but like 560sdl said, liquid provides more variety.

you CAN use both at once, but the problem with using 2, is one will inevitably out-compete the other. So you wont know which one did a majority of the work. making the beer difficult to replicate. 1 yeast strain in your batch will be fine, and make good beer.

if you can’t make a starter with the liquid. I would use the coopers yeast. The link below has a yeast pitching rate calculator that will tell you how much yeast you need for optimal fermentation

http://www.mrmalty.com

[quote=“S.Scoggin”][quote=“nemesis2a”]Hi,

Cheers![/quote]

dry yeast has come a long way. In my opinion it can make just as good beer as liquid. but like 560sdl said, liquid provides more variety.

you CAN use both at once, but the problem with using 2, is one will inevitably out-compete the other. So you wont know which one did a majority of the work. making the beer difficult to replicate. 1 yeast strain in your batch will be fine, and make good beer.

if you can’t make a starter with the liquid. I would use the coopers yeast. The link below has a yeast pitching rate calculator that will tell you how much yeast you need for optimal fermentation