Back to Shopping at NorthernBrewer.com

1st time brew

Hello,
This is my first time brewing. I purchased the 1 gallon homebrew kit, American wheat. I read over the instructions. On the instruction sheet there are 10 steps. 1st step says to boil 1.25g of water then step 2 says after it is boiling we now have wort. Step 1 didn’t have me add anything…am I missing something? help please.

Thanks,
Mark

Wow, Northern Brewer missed a step. Between steps 1 and 2 there should be a paragraph saying:

Steep grains in the mesh bag. Just think of this as making tea with barley malt-steep for
approximately 10 minutes as the water heats, then remove the grain and discard. These grains will add desired color, flavor, aroma, and body to our finished beer.

I just looked it up on there site and they sure did leave that out. Click on a different recipe and click on additional information and you can select and view instructions in PDF format.
I used Caribou Slobber to find the above information.

[quote=“tiltrotor22”]Wow, Northern Brewer missed a step. Between steps 1 and 2 there should be a paragraph saying:

Steep grains in the mesh bag. Just think of this as making tea with barley malt-steep for
approximately 10 minutes as the water heats, then remove the grain and discard. These grains will add desired color, flavor, aroma, and body to our finished beer.

I just looked it up on there site and they sure did leave that out. Click on a different recipe and click on additional information and you can select and view instructions in PDF format.
I used Caribou Slobber to find the above information. I just sent an email to Northern Brewer to have them look into this and have it corrected.[/quote]

Thank you, My 1st mistake, buying a 8qt (2gal) pot. Should have bee a lot bigger!!! My kit did not come with grains, so I guess I just skipped that. Im not boiling the malt and 1 hop portion. I hope im doing this right. Thank You!