1st All Grain batch this weekend

Hello everyone. I’m brewing my first All-Grain batch this weekend (I’ve been brewing extract off and on for 15 years, but its been about 2 years since I last brewed.) I’m a little unsure about the process, so I thought I’d share my planned recipe and process with the forum and see what people think.

I have built a 48 qt cooler mash tun with a stainless braid for batch sparging (basically copied the instructions from Denny COnn’s website). I am planning to brew the following recipe:

Amarillo IPA

10 lb US 2-row
1 lb US Crystal 60
.5 lb carapils/dextrine

.75 oz Warrior - 60 minutes
1 oz Amarillo 15 minutes
1 oz Amarillo 5 minutes
2 oz Amarillo @ flameout/steep 5 minutes prior to chilling

I plan to mash-in with 17.25 qts of water @ 164.3 degrees (shooting for 152). Hold for one hour.

Drain mash tun, and then do one batch sparge with 3.25 gallons of water. Should give me pre-boil volume around 6.5 gallons.

Chill and pitch yeast (SAfale US-05).

Any thoughts on the recipe or process? Anything look way off? Thanks in advance for your feedback. I’m also putting together a kegging system, so I have lots of questions on that, but I’ll save them for a different thread.

Joel

Everything looks decent to me. Have fun tomorrow.

Looks good. The only thing I would change is adding a dry hop addition.

Thanks guys. I was thinking of adding 1 oz of Amarillo as a dry hop addition, but my LHBS only has leaf Amarillo at this time. I’ve always dry-hopped with pellets. I assume there would be no issues using the leaf?

No some prefer leaf over pellet. IIRC they feel leaf is superior because it hasn’t been subjected to processing.