Back to Shopping at NorthernBrewer.com

15 gallon brew pot question

I have a 15 gallon brew pot I use for mashing and boils. I am new to all grain kits. In fact I only did two extract kits before going all grain. I am doing five gallon kits. I have only brewed two all grain kits so I have no method to the madness yet. I did notice I lost close to three gallons of wort when the boil was over with both kits. For my water calculations I used 1.2 quarts per pound of grain. I sparged with @4-5 gallons of water. What is the best way to boil and end up with 5.5 gallons of wort going into the fermentor?

If you are loosing 3 gallons during the boil, you should sparge to collect about 8.5-9 gallons of runnings to the kettle to start your boil.

Another option is to start with a little less and shorten your boil time, but when it comes right down to it, trial and error is one of the best teaching experiences.

Thanks for the advice. I hear about off flavors or tannions from over sparging. I have a dead guy clone I have in the fermentor now. It came with a 13 pound grain bill. So I sparged with 5 gallons and came up with 8 gallons of wort pre boil. I want to do a NB Cream Ale, it comes with only 8 pound grain bill, so I am concerned about too little wort after the boil. Thought about maybe just adding enough water to the wort to bring it up to 5.5 gallons before I pitch the yeast. Is that ok to do?

IIRC, tannins may not be an issue if you are batch sparging. So you could go ahead and sparge up to the 8-9 gallon level.

With a small grain bill, if you didn’t want to do that you could add water to the boil kettle before starting the boil. Or, add it to the kettle after the boil as a cooling process.