Back to Shopping at NorthernBrewer.com

1214 banana bomb

1040-ish beer fermented in the mid 60s. Banana city. I’m thinking I might need to print corny jokes on the labels.

This is my first time using this yeast. Has anyone else had the same experience? Wondering if I should give it another go or not.

[quote=“bunderbunder”]1040-ish beer fermented in the mid 60s. Banana city. I’m thinking I might need to print corny jokes on the labels.

This is my first time using this yeast. Has anyone else had the same experience? Wondering if I should give it another go or not.[/quote]

Yep. I either avoid that yeast or make sure it never gets above 62.

Good to know, thanks.

Now I know what yeast to use on my next banana beer.

It throws as much bubblegum as banana! FWIW, when I want to use Chimay yeast I go to the trouble of culturing it from a bottle of Premiere. It seems a little mellower than what you buy.

It throws as much bubblegum as banana! FWIW, when I want to use Chimay yeast I go to the trouble of culturing it from a bottle of Premiere. It seems a little mellower than what you buy.[/quote]

That’s okay since my next banana beer is going to be a reallllllllllllly long time in the future. :wink:

If that’s a problem, you’re welcome to as much of mine as you can drink.

I have used 1214 with good results, but other times, it does produce a banana bomb. Not sure what the key variable is, but it may be fermentation temp.

It is funny how each person has a different reaction to this yeast. I personally hate bananas and anything flavored with it, but I love this yeast for my dubbels. :?