1098 Brittish Ale in St. Paul's Porter

Hey Everyone,

I’m very new to brewing, this is my second batch. I used 1098 in a St. Paul’s Porter extract kit. I brewed on Sunday, and noticed last night that fermentation is slowing already, and the krausen already settled.

The carboy is in my cellar, and I’m in Maine, so I’m worried it slowed down due to low temp.

So my question is, is this unusual to slow so quickly, and would it be ok, to bring it upstairs, warm it up a bit and see if things speed back up.

If I warm it, should I stir or agitate the beer to get the yeast going again? There’s plenty of head room, I’m using a 6 gallon glass carboy for primary.

Thanks very much for any help!

Greg

Well, what do you mean by low temp? That yeast is listed at 64-72* so it’s very possible you’re a bit cool which could cause it to drop. If you’re lower than that I would bring it upstairs and just rock it back and forth a bit. Try not to splash, just shake it back and forth to get some yeast up in suspension. You’ll be fine.

But, in five days or so it is also likely that it is finishing up. Still, couldn’t hurt to bump the temp a bit to help it get down all the way.

Thanks for the feedback!

I’m not 100% what the temp is in the cellar. I’m guessing I’m pushing the 64º though.

It just occured to me this morning while at work, so I’ll check the temp tonight. I just wanted to make sure I wouldn’t do any damage by warming it up, and rocking it gently to stir things up.

Thanks,
Greg

It was also still bubbling a few times a minute, so maybe I’m worried for nothing. But I tend to do that. :slight_smile:

Take a gravity reading and warm it up. Note the difference in a few days. If it’s the same, the beer is done and you can probably bottle it. That porter does well with aging, though. I can’t keep mine much past 6 months but it’s really good at that age.

I know I should do gravity readings. But I’m just too greedy, and I don’t want to lose the volume! :slight_smile: