Back to Shopping at NorthernBrewer.com

1 Gallon Fermentor Question

Hey there. I have been a customer of NB for about 3 years, but just signed up this morning for the forums.

I tried searching the forum and the site for this answer but couldn’t find it, so I apologize if this has been asked and answered BUT…

Here is my question

For the 1 gallon fermentors they now sell - how big is the actual fermentor? I guess I am asking more out of curiosity then anything else.

I have been doing 5 gal extact kits for 3-4 years, loving it. but now the idea I can do maybe some smaller quick kits to either just bang out 10-12 bottles, or to try a kit or experiment before doing a 5 gal batch is quite appealing.

But again, if I am doing 1 gallon batches, how big is the actual fermentor? 1.5 gal? something like that? I assume there is room for the fermentation etc.

Finally, has any of the other more seasoned folks on here tried a few of the gallon kits? any thought on if it is a good way to get a quick batch or not?

thanks in advance everyone

I believe they’re only 1 gallon, which explains why there were so many “why is my 1 gallon fermentor blowing out?” threads a while back. Definitely need a blowoff tube.

Having done 1, 2.5, 3, 5, 6, 8, and 15 gallon batches, I don’t see a huge difference in time commitment between the 1 and 2.5 gallon batches. The big difference is really ingredients, so they’re pretty nice for experimental batches, but for a known batch that you want to knock out, I like at least 2.5 gallons.

thanks, I guess that was what i was wondering. I know for my 5 gal batches I use a 6 gallon primary better bottle or a 6.5 gallon (I think?) bucket depending on my mood…

I was just wondering for the 1 gallon batches if there was room for fermentation. Sounds like if I do this I am using a blow off tube versus the airlock (which is weird since the photos show it with an airlock - sounds like a recipe for a mess…)